ATV Riders Message Board Articles Reviews Videos Photo Gallery wallpaper Links ATV SxS News Interviews Racing News Models Donations Quad of the Month Contact Us

2016 AMA ATV Motocross
Round #11 Loretta Lynn's
Hurricane Mills, TN
August 13,2016

AMA ATV Motocros Racing

Joel Hetrick Dominates Loretta Lynn's Pro ATV MX

Meanwhile, Wienen was busy working his way through the pack from a dead last start. With only two laps remaining Wienen was in a podium position but wanting more. As the white flag waved Wienen would make the last minute pass on Haagsma for second, but Hetrick claimed the win with a commanding lead of 22 seconds.

Joel Hetrick ATV Motocross

By winning both Motos, Joel Hetrick finally closed the points gap down to 16 points on Chad Wienen heading into the twelth and final round at Soaring Eagle

When Moto 2 was underway Wienen bolted out of the gate eager for redemption, but it would be Haagsma claiming the SSi Decals Holeshot Award. By the time they checked into the finish line for the completion of the first lap, Wienen had secured the lead with Haagsma and Hetrick following in second and third.

David Haagsma ATV Motocross

Sparks Racing's David Haagsma grabbed the Moto 2 Holeshot

Hetrick sat in the top spot once the moto reached it halfway point. Once the Pennsylvania native had a clear track he slowly began pulling away from the rest of the field. Wienen was running a consistent race in second, while the battle for third started brewing behind him between Rastrelli and Haagsma. Although Rastrelli was able to make the pass for third Haagsma kept him honest the entire moto even constantly showing a front wheel in a turn.

David Haagsma ATV Motocross

ELKA's David Haagsma dropped back to a 4th place finish, but it was enough to claim the final podium position with third overall

"I feel great that I got to run up in the front for a while in both motos," said Haagsma. "I had a good battle with Rastrelli in the second moto and I tried to pass him back, but I was just a little too tired. I knew I had the overall for third if I just finished fourth so I just played it safe to get third overall."

By the conclusion of the second 20-minute moto it would be Hetrick reigning victorious once again and standing on the top of the box (1-1), with Wienen (2-2) and Haagsma (3-4) rounding out the overall podium. Rastrelli would recover from a dead last start in the first moto for fourth overall (7-3) and AGX Designs/Walsh Racecraft/Maxxis' Nick Gennusa landed a spot in the top five with a pair of fifth place finishes.

Jeffrey Rastrelli ATV Motocross

Jeffrey Rastrelli came back to claim a third place finish in Moto 2, which boosted him to fourth overall ahead of Nick Gennusa

"My bike worked great all day today," said Hetrick. "Today really showcased all the hard work with two 20-minute motos in brutal heat and rough track conditions. Everything hooked up awesome for a perfect weekend where I was able to gain some points and I'm ready for the Edge of Summer MX.

The ProX ATVMX series takes a month off before the Edge of Summer MX season finale at the Soaring Eagle Casino and Resort. The inaugural event is set for Friday, September 9, in Mountain Pleasant, Michigan.

2016 Pro X AMA ATV Motocross Race Results
Round 11 - Loretta Lynn's MX
Pro ATV Motocross Overall Race Results:
  1. Joel Hetrick (1-1)
  2. Chad Wienen (2-2)
  3. David Haagsma (3-4)
  4. Jeffrey Rastrelli (7-3)
  5. Nick Gennusa (5-5)
  6. John Natalie (4-7)
  7. Ronnie Higgerson (8-6)
  8. Josh Upperman (6-8)
  9. Sam Rowe (9-9)
  10. Wes Lewis (10-10)

Pro ATV Motocross Points Standing:

  1. Chad Wienen (490)
  2. Joel Hetrick (474)
  3. Jeffrey Rastrelli (337)
  4. Josh Upperman (319)
  5. David Haagsma (317)
  6. John Natalie (307)
  7. Nick Gennusa (305)
  8. Ronnie Higgerson (247)
  9. Brett Musick (220)
  10. Thomas Brown (215)
SSi Decals Holeshot Award Standings:
  1. Chad Wienen (10)
  2. Joel Hetrick (9)
  3. John Natalie (7)
  4. David Haagsma (3)
  5. Brett Musick (3)
  6. Jeffrey Rastrelli (1) Top Qualifier Award Standings:

  1. Joel Hetrick (6)
  2. Chad Wienen (5)
AMA ATV Motocros Racing
1 ::Page 2::

Copyright 2002-2022, ATV Riders All Rights Reserved - ATV Riders Forum - Message Board - Archive