PDA

View Full Version : No Iran thread? I can't believe it.

F-16Guy
06-21-2009, 08:01 PM
There's some pretty important stuff going on over there right now, so I'm surprised that there hasn't been a thread about it yet.

If there is a successful revolution over there and the current gov't is overthrown and replaced with a more moderate body, that could be huge! With Iraq and Iran as democratic nations, the middle east could see some real progress, and maybe move out of the dark ages.

I have to say that I was really shocked (in a good way) to learn about Iran's demographics. With such a young population, I think there's a real chance that what's starting now could end up with regime change.

Hopefully you younger guys and girls are watching this and learning as much as you can, because the outcome could drastically change your quality of life in the future.

Any thoughts/input from people that know the subject matter? I'm not an expert, but I know that what's going on there is big and important.

derekhonda
06-21-2009, 08:52 PM
Been following it too. I hope that country can see a change for the better, but each morning when i turn on the news, i am expecting to see a tienenmen square repeat first thing....i hope im wrong.

F-16Guy
06-22-2009, 06:08 AM
Yeah, I hope it doesn't come to that. The people have numbers on their side, though. With a population that young, the majority of citizens are pretty tech savvy, so I'd think they know how the rest of the civilized world lives, and want to be more like that. Hopefully the era of totalitarian governments is coming to a close. I think the majority of the Iranian population are fundamentally good people, and the country would make a great trading partner if their government was replaced. Like someone on the news last night said, the 1979 attitude of "Death to America" is quickly losing relavence among Iran's citizens.

250rAL
06-22-2009, 07:39 AM