Thread: cr85 jetting

cr85 jetting

05 cr85 142/48 nfsf needle 3rd clip stock motor reeds and pipe. 15/48 gearing airscrew 1-1/2 2x6 pod filter. Going crazy can't figure why it's sluggish low and mid. Even pinned in mid it takes time for power to kick in.any help would be greatly appreciated I might even throw in a 6 pack if I don't finish it first just got to wall away oh btw don't have the room for 6 th gear plug chop.I don't think I'm lean

Sorry central Jersey 28 pwk d slide

Plug looks good little rich. I'm thinking it might be needle.is there a different needle people ate running. Might raise clip to lean out mid

Bump just checking

try this

I found the Honda service manual to be real good for jetting the stock motor. I'm no expert by any means but I'll tell you what I think you should try based on my experience and what the manual states for that year and your elevation in Jersey...............

I would go back to stock settings which should be slightly rich and then tweak it from there. Here's a copy of the chart. I've circled the area I think you should start with then try leaning out the slow jet one size if the problem continues. If you get to far off the chart you have something else going on. Between this and changing the gearing you should be as good as it is going to get. Then you get into the mods to build bottom end power. We went with a DEP pipe that helped a bit.

Hope this helps............

Todd Jones
    Zach Jones Racing #1,
    2012 GNCC Youth Rider of the Year
    2012 GNCC Overall National Champion
    2012 GNCC Open Class Champion
    2011 GNCC Mod National Champion
    2011 MidEast Harescramble Series Mod Champion
    North Augusta, SC

Special Thanks to our 2012 Sponsors:

Maximum RPM
    Fly Racing
    FOX Shox
    Amsoil Racing
    Gaerne Boots
    Fasst Co. Flexx Bars

Plug

What heat range of the plug do you all recommend? 7, 8, 9, 10??

I run a 10 no problems

plug