Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 400ex trail monster mods

400ex trail monster mods

I am new to modding my quads, but i want to make my new to me 2000 400ex a trail monster. It already has a white bros pipe, dynajet kit (junk), kn filter with prefilter and lid removed, and.......elka shocks. What else should i get for it to up my performance for cheap. I am more concerned with reliability than absolute performance. I am thinking that sparks ignition key and a rev box.....but u guys know more than me. I got some money to spend and am ready to make it perform. I definately want anything that will make my throttle respond better like the 09 EFI Z400.
    Thanks guys.
    00' 400ex
    87' 250r

try the sparks key maybe the 450r carb the rev box's is a waste of money IMO unless your quads built because you stop making HP after a certain RPMs.
    QUADLESS
    2008 450r SOLD
    2004 416ex 11 to 1, stg2 cam triple rates SOLD

thanks buddy
    I am definitely looking into a 450r carb.
    The sparks key is cheap so ill get that. I got holeshot XCRs all the way around and a set of GBC X-Rex's brand new in my garage all on stock rims. PMR skids for the belly and swing.
    00' 400ex
    87' 250r

I just did these mods and its a torque monster AWSOME FOR TRAILS. Will beat any 450r stock out of the hole..

Yosh pipe full system no sprk arrestor
    hot cam stg 1
    wiseco 11:1 wiseco light weight piston
    Bored out to 416
    Light port and polish
    K&n air filter w/ pre charger, dyno jets..
    Next mod (2 months from now) 450R CARB! And she will torque even more..
    Keep stock gearing

AWSOME BUILD! And it should be reliable..

From what I hear you dont need hd studs, thought if I was you I would change my low end bearings just to be safe. Thought ask around you probably will be able to get away with it.. Make sure there is no play and mesure the end play.. Make sure its up to spec. Finally all this is not to hard to do just do it by the book and STAY ORGANIZED.