Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newb clutch install question

Question Newb clutch install question

Getting ready to replace my clutch in my quad....i've never done a clutch before in my life.

Question for those experienced with this:
    Should I scuff the the new OEM Honda steel plates with sandpaper prior to installing them? If so, what grit paper should I use?

I only ask because my Honda service manual makes no mention of it
    00' 400EX - GT Thunder 450 stroker, custom JE 12.5:1 piston,
    +7mm stroked crank, HD stroker rod, HRC cam, GTT full race porting, +1mm intake valves, FCR 39 carb, CRF timing chain, Denso IXG27 iridium plug, full Hinson 8 plate clutch, Desert Toyz Supercooler w/ SPAL fan, UM airbox w/ UNI, CT Hi-Output exhaust, Roll LOBO II F/R, LT PEP 8 click ZPS piggyback fronts, PEP ZPS rear, YFZ brakes/450R master, CCP stabilizer, Hiper Tech beadlocks, Durablue X-33, TAG, Quadtech, ASV, AC, IMS, RAD, Works Connection, Galfer..

05' Kawasaki KLX 110 - Fast 50's springs F/R, HRC cradle, Rox risers, FLY fatbars, NGK CR6HIX iridium plug, Twin Air filter

i did mine with scoth brite just to take the glaze off.
    01' 440EX stroker - +4mm crank 11.5:1 JE piston, stage 3 cam, lightened flywheel, ported by Thumper Racing, +1mm intake valves, 39mm fcr carb, HD studs, 8 plate clutch, Sparks X-6, Houser, Elka ZPS front shocks, Gt Thunder rear shock with mx linkage, Lonestar axle & +1 swinger, TAG bars, AC bumper and propegs, RAD tapered carrier

bjg696 is offline Ride-to-Live_Live-to-Ride
    I did mine with a 1000 grit sand paper. It works very well, just like drew said, do it just enough to knock the glaze off. Just be carfull and watch how it all comes apart and itll take a total of 30 to 45 min and youll be done....
    05 440ex, Wiesco(12.5:1) compression piston, Hotrods Crank,