PDA

View Full Version : how to get more power from the 440?

honduh440
03-22-2004, 09:21 PM
ok im wanting a lil more power i have alot of stuff done now how it is ..........440 11.1 comp, heads ported, hotcam, fcr carb, uni air filter no air box lid, and big gun exhaust. i have stock valves and have been thinkin about that but im not a mechanic so i would have to have someone do that for me does anyone know what i could expect to get in a increase with new rockers and springs? i was also concidering a 13.1 comp piston but i dont really want to pay for race gas if someone could give me some numbers on those two ideas it would be awsome or something else i could do thanks

03-22-2004, 10:12 PM
Ok, you have everything I want. Right now I have the 440 kit, ported and polished WB slip on ground out stock exhaust and open intake lid. I havn't run it yet, but I hope it will have nice power gains over the tired old stock motor.;)

Claas900
03-23-2004, 01:02 AM
..I wonder if you could get a 92mm piston? makeing it a 465 like sparks offers..or can u not go over 440cc's?..maybe even on pump gas?..

SnellCRP
03-23-2004, 07:55 AM
With your current combination, 440 11.1 comp, heads ported, hotcam, fcr carb, uni air filter no air box lid, and big gun exhaust. My first question is who ported the head and was it done on a flowbench? Head porting can lose power if not done right. The idea is to flow the max volume of air through the smallest port which maintains velocity.

You have some other options that may require the use of race gas, but just do one at a time and listen carefully for "pinging". You may not have to run 100% race gas maybe just a % mix to stop the "pinging".

First: If you haven't had the quad tuned on a dyno you will pick up some HP/Torque just from getting the carb tuned in right. You can't really tune it with "feel" or plug color. Have it dialed in on a dyno.