PDA

View Full Version : 400ex will not run at idle

columbia7200
02-24-2004, 03:09 PM
I have a 2000 400 ex that has been setting up for several months. I can get it started and running, however when the engine heats up and I turn the choke off it will go dead. As long as the RPM's stay up it will run. The engine is still very responsive, and runs great, just it won't idle at all. I've have adjusted the idler screw, throttle cable tension, nothing seems to work. I think it is a problem with the carburator, but I am no mechanic and don't know anything about carbs. Also when I am riding with the choke off, the engine will backfire alot when I let off the throttle. Is this a carb problem? How much would it cost to fix? Please I need help fast!! Thanks.

quadrider400
02-24-2004, 10:22 PM
You have no sig listed so this a stock bike?

However based on what you have listed try the following:
1. Replace the plug and make sure it is gapped correct.
2. If you have not for a while..... clean the air filter.
3. If you have a Whites Bros. (p.o.s.) CDI try putting your stock one back on.
4. If you have had the carb apart I would double check that everything is where it should be as the idle adjust screw if rotated clockwise should increase your idle pretty well no matter what.
5. Look for any worn wiring that might be making contact and allowing the bike to short out.

Let me know how ya do after this..... :confused:
Quadrider400

columbia7200
02-25-2004, 07:41 PM
Yes this is a stock bike. Sorry no sig, I'm a new user to the board. Anyway, I've replace the spark plug, the airfilter is clean, no electrical problems detected. I drained the fuel tank and put fresh gas and some carb cleaner in it. This seems to have resolved part of the problem so far. Anyway thanks for the suggestions.

EXerHonda400
02-28-2004, 09:58 PM