View Full Version : anyone engineers in here

J25
01-30-2004, 06:53 PM
im only a freshman but i think i want to be a mechanical engineer...I just got my 2004-2005 year class list to make my schecule for nexy year, what are some classes do you guys reccomend taking, im definitly going to take drafting ne others??

wwclea01
01-30-2004, 07:40 PM
You better plan on doing nothing but school work. I started out in engineering at University of Lousville. I couldn't take it, it was way to much.

Quad18star
01-30-2004, 09:01 PM
Yupp ... as stated , party hard now , cuz once classes start you'll be over your head in school work . I finished up my Civil Engineering degree this year , and let me tell you ... I'm glad its over and done with . I'm not sure whats courses are involved with Mechanical Engineering ... but take lots of math classes . I hope you enjoy math cuz you'll eat sleep and breath it until you're done . Maybe take a STrength of Materials course ( if offered) , Fluid Mechanics and Hydrolics ( also if offered) . Report writting also.

Tommy 17
01-30-2004, 09:15 PM
MATH MATH MATH!!!!

i'm goin into mechinacal engineering this year... they told me take as much math as u can... i'm in calculus right now... also take any cadd classes u can in ur school!!!

J25
01-30-2004, 09:20 PM
hows calculus, this year i took algebra and geometry and next year algebra 2 and maybe pre cal

Quad18star
01-30-2004, 09:25 PM
Calculus and Statitics SUCK . But then again I totally hate math .I'm still trying to figure out WHY i decided on Engineering if I hate math so much . Oh well I got the papers . Geometry isn't as bad as the others. Just wait until you start tp play with Axial loads , Torsions , Shear and Moments Vectors, Newtons , Conversions and so on .... you'll just love it .. ( note the sarcasm) . But hey ... if you actually enjoy the stuff you're learning , it can be fun stuff to learn . Personally I didn't enjoy my program because of the MATH .

batgeek
01-30-2004, 09:31 PM