PDA

View Full Version : Easiest engine swap 400ex?

StreetLegalEX
01-11-2004, 06:03 AM
Guys,

My 400ex is very unreliable. I want to drop some other motor in it. Doesn't matter much how much hp it has, or if it is a 2- or 4stroke.
What does matter is that it fits with minimal modifications. (i am not that technical...)

What engine would be easy to fit in a 400ex frame?
I do want something reliable, and I would appreciate if it doesn't rattle me, or the frame, to death :)

Suggestions?

sickmojave
01-11-2004, 07:59 AM
Originally posted by StreetLegalEX

Doesn't matter much how much hp it has,

What engine would be easy to fit in a 400ex frame?

Suggestions?

:huh The 400ex engine is very reliable when it's in fairly good shape and fits the frame really well. why not just fix the engine you have? by the time you buy another engine and make everything work, you would have way more invested than it would take to make the EX engine right. :confused:

ZSK
01-11-2004, 08:29 AM
You could even pick up a new 400ex engine to put in there. Most are around $1000 some even have stuff done to them.

StreetLegalEX
01-11-2004, 01:09 PM
Well I live in Belgium where stuff is expensive (400ex engine is about 3000), and I know Honda is reliable (mine isn't).
Is it easy to fit a DRZ400 engine in there (the one from the Z400) or something like that?
Need engine with about the same geometry as the xr400 engine.

WhiteBros400ex
01-11-2004, 09:26 PM
What makes your ex motor so unreliable mine is really reliable.

Martin Blair
01-11-2004, 09:35 PM
buy a ex motor from service honda i dont remeber what they cost but even 3000 for a new ex motor is goign to be cheaper then a Z motor and all the mods and gussets you will ahve to do, find a used motor on her that ahs a 416 or soemthign in it, ive seen then for 155 or so have in shiped over

StreetLegalEX
01-12-2004, 01:15 AM
Well, thanks for all replies but they are kindof offtopic... ;)