PDA

View Full Version : why do people rut stuff

Matt756
01-08-2004, 05:09 PM
im new to atving i had a 300ex and in the woods and hills are rutted and the hills are wide and everyone goes up in the same spot i was just wondering why the do this

Bill Fuller
01-08-2004, 05:20 PM
Most people follow the same path as other for a since of security........."If they made it,so can I".Some places actually require you to ride in the same path for erroision control.I personally look for new lines when I ride,always looking for a line to pass my buddies.

exrider505
01-28-2004, 06:43 AM
Thats the one thing that makes me hate big hills, ruts. Smooth steep hills are bad***** though.

zephead400ex
01-28-2004, 02:46 PM
Try riding dunes after buggies and jeeps tear up the hills. Try following these guys around...

Woodsrider
01-28-2004, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by zephead400ex
Try riding dunes after buggies and jeeps tear up the hills. Try following these guys around...

are those rails? kinda hard to tell in the pic. I have freinds that have sand rails with Acura 3.2l typeS motors and long travel suspension. There is no way to keep up, but it sure is fun tryin!:D

4punksdad
02-01-2004, 08:57 PM
Originally posted by Matt756
im new to atving i had a 300ex and in the woods and hills are rutted and the hills are wide and everyone goes up in the same spot i was just wondering why the do this

2 major contributing factors............... 4x4 atv's with giant friggin tires, and riding just after a wet period. If our fellow riders would use some common sense there would be far less ruts. I have no problem stopping some jackass in the woods and letting him know that he is ****ing up my trails. I suggest we all do the same and we might save some of our riding areas from being shut down.

Quadfather
02-02-2004, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by 4punksdad
2 major contributing factors............... 4x4 atv's with giant friggin tires, and riding just after a wet period.