PDA

View Full Version : Screwy 400ex transmissions?

Moded86R
01-08-2004, 02:11 PM
Alright I have a 2002 400ex.It has less than a 100 hours on it.A freind of mine also has a 2002.It has a little more hours on it.Not sure how many.(But I know we have had ALOT of long nights on that bike.We rode it all the time.)

Anyway both of our bikes are having tranny problems.Nothing has acctually broken yet.The thing is missing gear happens alot.Yesterday we where racing from a roll and we where basicly right next to each other.When he shifted into 3rd it like went into nuetral revved up and then went into second gear.I saw it happen and heard the bike rev up.Mine hasn't been acting up as bad as his.But it has done a few things.I know I miss 2nd alot with it.

I have my shift lever adjusted for my boots.So I know it's not that.I know how to ride a bike.I have been riding for 14 years.I am kind of new to the 400ex.My buddy has had one sing july of 02.Bought brand new.And his has always missed gears to.

Is it just our bikes?Is anyone else having issue's with there 400 tranny's?

StreetLegalEX
01-08-2004, 02:13 PM
Could also be clutch, or maybe change the oil?

Moded86R
01-08-2004, 03:25 PM
His oil get got change in october.Mine in november.Both opf ours are due.Mine will be changed tommorow and he would have changed his today but he had to order new front plastic.But it will get changed soon.

Niether one of our clutch's slip and both of them are tight.I think it might be something with the trans.And the way it connects to the shift shaft.Seems like there is to much play.

xc400ex
01-08-2004, 08:44 PM
400ex tranny's are pretty much bulletproof except when you really build the motor...adjust the clutch lever to about 1/4 inch freeplay and put some fresh oil in it. What kind of oil are you runnign?

Chef
01-08-2004, 08:50 PM