PDA

View Full Version : Bearing Carriers

Chanman420q
12-25-2003, 09:43 PM
Tapered or Double Row....... whats the diffrance and what are the benifits of each

12-26-2003, 06:53 AM
Tapered will last a lot longer and is by far the best of the 2. But it's possible you'll loose chain adjustment depending on what company you get your carrier from.

Chanman420q
12-26-2003, 10:34 AM
Well im either gunna get the RAD tapered or the LSR double Row

cals400ex
12-26-2003, 11:57 AM
i have been told that the lsr products are junk. however, i have NO experience with them so i honestly don't know. that is just what i was told. you may be able to get more responses in the suspension forum if you don't get it figured out here. good luck

Pappy
12-26-2003, 12:28 PM
i had been told that tapered also wears faster:confused: and i believe the reason i was given was due to side bearing load? i havent a clue....lmao

i run a burgard double row and havent had one problem. lsr double row is a decent part also but i have no personal expierence with tapered.

FFW
12-26-2003, 07:55 PM
Well Pappy, look at it this way, how many cars out there on the road have servicable front bearings? Answer: Millions. All of those same car's bearings are of the tapered variety.

I would imagine they easily exceed the side loads during light usage that one would see under even the most extreme conditions on an ATV. The bearings are specifically designed to be loaded from the side, hence the tapered design. Premature failure would really only come from three things: Lack of grease, dirt/water intrusion, and improper tightening.

I've had the Rad carrier on my 440 now for about 2 years and it's been very much trouble free. Only service I have performed is occasionalyl pumping some grease into the zerk to ensure it's full. I don't anticipate ever having to replace it unless I do something extraordinarily stupid. From what I understand the Rad carrier uses automotive bearings anyway.