PDA

View Full Version : Yfz Vs. Trx Dyno2

chad502ex
12-25-2003, 12:49 PM
Just to clear a bit up from the last thread (YFZ VS. TRX DYNO) before it was closed,...

My only point was that I do not believe the new trx450r has only 5 hp (33hp) more than a stock trx400ex (~27hp), being that the 450r is liquid cooled and the stock crf450R outputs ~55hp. Why would HONDA manufacture a quad that has ONLY 5 more ponies than the 400 with less torque, when thier competition (YFZ) has over 40? Catch my drift? ****, a fregg'n 416 outputs 42hp, so why would anyone expect less from a new 450r? Just a thought,..

Another point (against honda that is,...), why would HONDA make a quad with a smaller stroke (64.8mm) than a 400ex (70mm), since torque wins races- not hp? No matter, I'll be boring and stroking the 450r to 101 x 71. Can you say 550R?

One last comment, I would like to retract my statement about having the exhaust manufacture "ask curtis how to build pipes",.... the truth is I'm not an expert on HMF Engineering pipes, but I did notice that exriders.com apparently post their banner and backs thier product. :). Does promoting the product make it good tho? Seriously, my bad on assuming HMF pipes are not good, they very well could be the best!

HONDA RULZ! RIDE RED!

Chad502EX.com

Doibugu2
12-25-2003, 03:01 PM
Don't want to get into an arguement, but I believe Honda knows what they are doing. They engines from anything from indy cars to weedwackers. I'm sure they have a reason why they only put a 64.8 stroke in the motor.

If you go look at the YFZ, that oddly enough has a smaller stroke at 62mm.

But the big difference is the compression. The YFZ is running 11.9.1 compared to the honda's 10.5.1.

How would would you expect them to be the same HP?

chad502ex
12-25-2003, 05:09 PM
Originally posted by Doibugu2