PDA

View Full Version : motor?

bigz-71
12-22-2003, 11:44 PM
i was talking to a friend of mine the other day about the yfz and the 450R. i was wondering why would honda not make it five valves like the yfz? and why would honda also make it a single overhead cam? isnt the yfz going to have a lot more engine rev? i am not too good with motors but i would think the more valves the faster the motor would rev. i would like someones feedback on this issue.

robby26wi
12-23-2003, 12:22 AM
The CRF head will outflow the YFZ head and it all about rotating mass and efficiency...The crf-trx cam set up is way lighter and way more efficient..Dont let the big blue kid ya about there 5 valve head being the latest technology..They had the 5 valve head in the early 80's

lukester720
12-23-2003, 01:27 AM
The rev limit on the R is 10,300rpms the yfz is 10,750 not to much of a difference. The honda is 42 hp stock the yfz is 37 hp, the honda has 47 to 48 hp with hrc kit the yfz with the lid off, pipe, and jetting 47 hp. On the yfz you can do the cam mod which will give you about 2 more hp. I am curious to see what adding a full exhaust system to the R will do for it. It made a huge difference on the yfz but I don't know about the R. Although hondas exhausts don't usually restrict their motors as much as other companys I think honda may had on this quad. On one of the posts I've read on here in the past a guy said that loren duncan of duncan racing said the R only needed a pipe to be fast so I guess we will wait and see.

12-23-2003, 05:31 AM
From what I am gathering the Honda has a stronger bottom to mid...that is what I like....launchin' out of corners with a more torquey motor...most passes are made comin' out of a corner.

bigz-71
12-23-2003, 07:37 AM
my 400ex has a lot of bottom and mid power. i like that way.

Maxx_Action
12-23-2003, 08:14 AM
Err.....

sorry to contradict you here, but the YFZ is almost 42 RWHP stock. See this link:http://www.gtthunder.com/dynoyzf450stock.html