PDA

View Full Version : Ball Joint rubber boot help

miken
12-22-2003, 06:20 AM
Hi all, Newbie here, great forum.
Does anyone know of a place where I can buy a new upper a-arm ball joint rubber boot? They are stock a-arms and the ball joints are in excellent shape except for the slice in the boot. I tried to fix with some RTV but it doesn't look like it will last very long. Thanks in advance.
Mike -

Pappy
12-22-2003, 06:33 AM
i think i tried finding one before at www.servicehonda.com but i cant rember if it is an available part. give thier online parts locator a try to see.

Quadworks
12-22-2003, 06:43 AM
Most all HONDA balljoint boots are NON replacable. About the best thing I found that works is go to your local auto parts store and buy a rubber boot for a tierod end for a GM. Give this a shot. Otherwise you will either have to deal with it or buy a whole new a-arm.

miken
12-22-2003, 08:27 AM
Thanks for the help. I checked out the web site, looks like you gotta buy the whole assembly. I also have an email into the parts department. I guess if I can't find them I will try the autoparts approach. Hope the tie rod end boots have the same diameters?
Thanks again,
Mike -

Quadworks
12-22-2003, 05:04 PM
I know this works because for my 72 Nova. I had bought a set of poly tierod boots to install when rebuilding my front suspension. I tried these on a set of a-arms and the fit really pretty good. But I think that if you get the rubber ones and maybe wiretie the base and fill with grease this should work great. This is the only fix that I have ever seen other than making removable ball joints. But then that mods, a different story. I hope this helps you out some.

bayou boy
12-22-2003, 06:16 PM