PDA

View Full Version : Need help with shocks.

swampfoxsc
12-21-2003, 08:12 PM
I'm new to the whole sport atv scene (rode 4X4 atvs for years) and I'm gonna try GNCC racing this year. I know nothing about shocks and need some help from you guys.

I bought a used 99 400EX and the stock shocks are worn out. Should I have the rear shock rebuilt by a reputable builder? I don't have tons of money to spend on shocks just to find out I suck at racing! So, what is a good front shock that I can maybe have upgraded in the future if I continue racing or just for aggresive play riding?

I've got the info I need on motor mods and such but shocks are an area that I just can't seem to master! Thanks for any help.:)

gibson400ex
12-21-2003, 08:18 PM
Originally posted by swampfoxsc
I'm new to the whole sport atv scene (rode 4X4 atvs for years) and I'm gonna try GNCC racing this year. I know nothing about shocks and need some help from you guys.

I bought a used 99 400EX and the stock shocks are worn out. Should I have the rear shock rebuilt by a reputable builder? I don't have tons of money to spend on shocks just to find out I suck at racing! So, what is a good front shock that I can maybe have upgraded in the future if I continue racing or just for aggresive play riding?

I've got the info I need on motor mods and such but shocks are an area that I just can't seem to master! Thanks for any help.:)

well if you got money go for elka,axis,i dnno howuch tcs are,and pep

cheaper-works

doy ou have a price range for hwo much money?

swampfoxsc
12-21-2003, 10:17 PM
I'm thinking $500-700. Can I have the rear rebuilt to work with quality aftermarket fronts?

I looked at the Elka website. Can their Recreational shocks be upgraded to the performance level of their racing shocks in the future?:confused:

cdalejef
12-22-2003, 06:59 AM