PDA

View Full Version : career being atv mechanic

bone705
12-01-2003, 07:38 PM
i was wondering if anyone does the for a living and what they think of it? i really enjoy working on quads. im thinking about going to a tech school for it. Is it a field to go into? whats the average income?

Jay300ex
12-01-2003, 08:30 PM
Yes it is a career. But it's not so much an ATV mechanic. You'd goto school to be a motorcycle technician, which includes dirtbikes scooters and ATVs. Starting pay out of school is like a minimum of $27,000 a year. The more you know, the more you work, the more you get. My boss (I work in a shop, I havn't been to school yet though) has been in the shop for 8 years now, he is the head mechanic and the shop manager. He brings in about $100k a year, but is a workaholic.

It depends on you.

Try looking up AMI ( American Motorcycle Institute ) and ATI - MMI (American Technical Institutes - Motorcycle Mechanics Institute

JUSTINcredible
12-01-2003, 09:08 PM
this is what i am going to school for next fall, but i have yet to make up my mind between two schools.

bone705
12-01-2003, 09:16 PM
what schools are u looking at?

JUSTINcredible
12-01-2003, 09:24 PM
Hennipen Tech and MN Central Lakes tech.

both are in Minnesota

Ryan
12-01-2003, 09:37 PM
Im going to a school called Boceeses next year to learn Car or Motorcycle mechanics. (Not sure if they have Motorcycle mechanics.......) Then from there I might go to another school for Motorcycle mechanics...... Where ever it takes me.

skemp
12-02-2003, 12:58 AM
Originally posted by JUSTINcredible
Hennipen Tech and MN Central Lakes tech.

both are in Minnesota

I'm going to Hennepin, it's a good school for that. Have you been there to take a look around yet? I live about a mile from it now. Maybe I could give you some info if you want. :) Nice shop there.

Jay300ex
12-02-2003, 08:50 AM
Originally posted by Ryan