PDA

View Full Version : New 250EX transmission noises?

jpconard
11-03-2003, 11:54 AM
I am new to ATVs but had bikes for years. I had a new 250EX out this weekend and I could hear clanking noises especially in the 4th and 5th gears when going slowly and then accelerating.

It sounds like transmission slop or possibly driveshaft?

It is only 1 week old, and I rode it easy on the first time out.

I rode another 250EX at this place (03) and I did not hear this noise.

Is this a normal noise?

MIKE400EX
11-03-2003, 01:35 PM
Even for not being broken in that doesn't sound good. Wife has one, as well as a neighbor (both 2001's) and both are very quiet.
Have your dealer check it out.

jpconard
11-03-2003, 10:47 PM
Thanks for the reply. I called the dealer tonight and of course, they couldn't listen to it without me leaving it there for a few days.

It even makes some noises while idling and when I shut it off. I noticed those immediately after purchasing when riding in the yard, but never got it into 4th & 5th gear until Sunday. It definitely sounds like the lower end, more so on the clutch side (front).

The dealer doesn't realize, I have a job, a new trailer to get going, licensed, etc. Everything closes at 4:30. Hell the thing is still muddy from Sunday. Like I have time to wash it, load it, and take it in while they are even open.

I bought a Honda for dependibility, and it will get ridden this weekend, even if it falls apart. Then they will just give me a new one.

Does anybody else have any suggestions? Could it just be a clutch adjustment? I'm tempted to adjust the clutch (should be similar to XR50 automatic clutch), but then the dealer would try to say I screwed it up.

MIKE400EX
11-04-2003, 06:48 AM
There's not much way that clutch can rattle. Adjustment is similar to the XR50's. Does it sound like it's coming from the cylinder or trans area?

jpconard
11-04-2003, 11:22 AM