PDA

View Full Version : Just got 400ex and have a problem!!!

Kadafiy
02-08-2002, 09:11 AM
I just bought a 2000 400ex and from little time I rode it the thing is awesome. I always thought you guys were BSing on how sweet the ex's are but now I see. Anyways at first it had a hard time starting so I put a new UNI in and it started fine but it won't idle. I have to keep on the throttle and if it stalls it make a cluchunk sound. Is that normal? Also, when I ride it stalls. I did change the plug. This is my first four-stroke and honda. So I am new to the bike and don't know what to look/listen for. Thanks for any help.

knighttime
02-08-2002, 09:21 AM
Your carb may need cleaned out. I'd also change the oil and filter before you go any farther.

Also, drain the gas and put in new 93 octane. Also go buy some sparkplugs. You will foul a few getting it dialed in.

good luck

mike

Also, buy the service manual from www.helminc.com. It's the best manual you can buy.

02-08-2002, 09:21 AM
Put a larger pilot jet in the carb,,,stock is 38,,go with a 40 or 42 it will help the hard starting and idling problem,,garaunteed..:D

Welcome to the honda owners club.

knighttime
02-08-2002, 09:24 AM
Rico's advice was good, but keep in mind that I have a higher post count than he does. :D

Kadafiy
02-08-2002, 09:35 AM
Wow this forum is awesome your replies are so fast. I think I'll take both of your guys advise. I have to take the carb off to get to the pilot jet so I might as well clean it and I planned on changing the oil and filter. I already have the Clymer manual. The bike is stock exept the filter so which would be better the 40 or 42. I also plan on adjusting the valves tomorrow. Thanks for your help.

RideRed400EX
02-08-2002, 10:03 AM