PDA

View Full Version : cam & rockers help please

J25
02-05-2002, 05:53 PM
ok ive been reading some post and i ve been seeing rockers and cams....... what are they and what do they do...... what does hardening them do......gimme all the input you got on cams, rockers, and valves...... thanks sorry for such a stupid question

330exracer
02-05-2002, 05:59 PM
holy bejesus we got a newbie on our hands.

330exracer
02-05-2002, 06:05 PM
ok well a cam is a lil thingamiger that rotates and has little egg like lobes on it andmoves the rockers up and down blah blah. then rocker lift the valve open . the springs keep the vavles shut blah blah. hardening makes the part of the rocker that rides ont the cam harder. hopefuly i siad it right. proly not though cause im stupid.

NewRider
02-05-2002, 06:16 PM
QuadMan,

Ill try and explain, though Im not very good at explaining engine 101. First of all, the valves are what allows fuel into the combustion chamber where it is burned. They also allow the exhaust gases out of the combustion chamber. The valves are held shut by valve springs. The are opened by the rockers pressing against the spring, thus forcing the valve down and making a gap between the valve and the head, allowing gas in or exhaust out. The cam is a rod with lobes on it. As the cam turns, the lobes force the rocker to push down on the valves.When people talk about duration or lift, they are referring to the following...

Lift affects how far the valves are opened. (a taller lobe, yields more lift)
Duration affects how long the valves stay open. (the wider the actual tip of the lobe is, causes longer duration)

Not sure if this helps, but its the only way I know how to explain it. :rolleyes:

As far as hardened rockers, it helps prevent wear from the rocker riding on the cam and from wearing or cracking while pressing against the valvespring tension.

Hope that helps a little.

John

330exracer
02-05-2002, 06:18 PM