PDA

View Full Version : 2004 GNCC Pro Class

DeCesare79
10-14-2003, 07:46 AM
Chad Duvall, Santo Derisi, and any other pros that read, Do you guys know what the rules are for Pro Class next Year?

ZRacer
10-14-2003, 08:12 AM
I am not a Pro, but I do know several. From what I heard, there will be a meeting Friday night to discuss the future of the Pro Class rules for next year.

Racer Production would like to see everyone on a production quad for next year, but I know that this isn't flying well with many of the racers and aftermarket companies.

I will be highly disappointed in Racer Productions if they force the Pro riders to race a Production quad next year for several reasons.

1st. There are several Pro riders that have alot of money invested in their two stroke aftermarket framed quads, and they can't be expected to switch to whole new setup in only 3 months because there is alot involved.
-Money
-Testing of different setups
-Familiarizing themselves with then engine characteristics of a 4stroke
-Seat Time, very difficult in the Winter.

2nd. Racer Productions made the 250A class the top amatuer class for 2003. Now, several of the 250A riders are ready to turn pro on the Quads that now shouldn't be eligible for next year? I think that is just wrong.

3rd. Why should the racers jump out and support the manufacturers new models when they won't do jack for them in return. Instead, they rather pay a guy on a motorcycle $5,000+ for a win and give them free bikes with the profits they earn from the Quad racers.

If Racer Productions thinks that forcing racers to run a 4stroke is the way to get more manufacturer involvement then that is great, but there should be transition year. This will give the racers a chance to sell their 2 stroke quads and build new 4stroke quads. They also will get enough time to prepared to race them in 2005.

I guess everyone will have to wait till Friday to find out what is up!

jlhughes750
10-14-2003, 11:41 AM