PDA

View Full Version : Beadlock Wheel Question???

mthomas
10-11-2003, 08:26 PM
I just purchased a set of rear beadlock wheels (Burgards). I had my ITP Holeshot XC's mounted on the new beadlock wheels by a local shop. Before I even had the opportunity to mount them on my 400EX, one of them lost air pressure (until flat). After refilling with air, I dunked it in a tub of water and found the air to be leaking from one spot on the beadlock side. I grabbed my torque wrench and torqued all of the bolts equally to 110 IN-LBS and now it leaks worse and more specifically around the bolt holes. I am new to beadlock wheels, what am I doing wrong? I appreciate any responses.

Pappy
10-11-2003, 08:29 PM
if its leaking in one spot from the tire id try spining the tire a bit on the rim and re-setting the bead. thats exactly what happened on my front billet beadlock and it solved my problem.

if its leaking from a weld then either silcone the weld or contact burgard or the place you bought them from.

mthomas
10-12-2003, 07:39 PM
Thanks for your help Pappy! What is the best method for tightening the beadlock bolts (pattern) and how much torque? The guy at Burgards just said snug them up. The bolts seemed to be pretty loose to me, maybe 80-90 in-lbs at best. Also, how critical is the alignment of the tire bead and the outer diameter of the beadlock ring? The way mine where installed, I have at least a 4MM difference in some areas. I believe the guy lining up the beadlock side of the tire could have done a better job. What do you think? Thanks again.

Chanman420q
10-12-2003, 07:43 PM
take it back to the place and tell them that this one wasnt sealed all the way.

Pappy
10-12-2003, 07:43 PM
the ring and tire should be centered perfectly on the rim. if the tire isnt centered it will leak..lol

if there is an issue with the acual rim then you should be contacting burgrad.

i dont use a torque wrench...but i do use a cross pattern when tightening

10-13-2003, 07:57 AM