PDA

View Full Version : New to racing and have a suspension ?

matt400ex
10-10-2003, 11:40 AM
Hi all. First for some background info, seeing as this is one of my first post. I have a 2000 400ex and just started some amateur racing about a month ago. I've been LUCKY enough to trophy at both races and am looking to be more competative. I'm still running a completely stock suspension, and weigh in a about 195lbs. I'm running turf tamers on the rear and Holeshots on the front. Now on to my questions.

I'm having trouble with the quad wanting to roll in corners. I'm wondering if I can raise the 2 spanner nuts on the rear shock and lower the bike without any adverse symptoms.

I'm also having trouble with the bike bottoming out on bigger jumps. I'll admit I'm no pro at launching or landing and some of it, is the rider. How can I tell if my front shocks are toast? I've been playing with the firmness on the rear shock and can feel a difference there, but don't know how to tell if the fronts are still "there". Also, will the front shocks from a Z-400 work on my EX?

Thanks for any info here. I'm planning on racing Sunday and I'll have to admit I've caught the fever. Now I just need to bring home one of those 1st place trophys.

Matt

Doibugu2
10-10-2003, 11:49 AM
If you got the racing bug, the best thing you can do is buy a set of aftermarket shocks. There are plenty of used ones you can get. Trust me, this is the best investment you will make in your quad.

As far as moving the spanner nut up, yea you can do it, but if your bottoming out your shocks, this is only going to make that worse. Your going to get a softer ride, and it sounds like you need a little stiffer ride.

I'm pretty sure the Z shocks don't fit the 400. They are different length.

westcoastmxer
10-10-2003, 01:17 PM