PDA

View Full Version : lightening the flywheel...explained!

zephead400ex
09-30-2003, 12:37 PM
Check this out, this dude is one smart mofo! If you have questions about how or why lightening the flywheel works...this dude answers it with more than you wanted to know!

http://forums.bansheehq.com/viewtopic.php?t=15758

peace

UglyMotha™
09-30-2003, 12:58 PM
over my head :eek2: i'm just a sorry engineer not a rocket scientist so can sombody sum it all up, will it make ya faster :confused:

zephead400ex
09-30-2003, 01:07 PM
Originally posted by UglyMotha™
over my head :eek2: i'm just a sorry engineer not a rocket scientist so can sombody sum it all up, will it make ya faster :confused:

Ya, its a little over my head....well a whole lot over my head actually. But hey, if we were all rocket scientist, this would be really helpful!

peace

wilkin250r
09-30-2003, 02:03 PM
Most everybody is familiar with inertia. Hit a fence with a bike, the bike will stop and you are going to go over the handle bars. Hit a fence with a car, and it will just go through the fence. Inertia is RESISTANCE to change, whether that change be starting or stopping.

Inertia isn't just in a straight line, it can also be rotational. Try spinning a hoola hoop vs a truck tire. The truck tire has more rotational inertia, it's harder to get it moving, and once it is moving, it's harder to get it to stop.

The "J" that the article is talking about is a measurement of rotational inertia, and it is basically equivalent to mass*radius. 5 oz taken off the outside will have more impact than 5oz taken off the inside, because the radius is different.

You need SOME type of wieght rotating, because it takes energy to compress the fuel/air before ignition. A heavy flywheel will have a nice smooth powerband because it won't slow down during the compression stroke. However, it takes energy to get that heavy mass rotating, which is energy you lose during acceleration.