PDA

View Full Version : 400ex is pissing me off....help

sica
09-24-2003, 05:04 PM
i have a 2003 400ex with a dmc alien full exhaust,a k&n air filter,dynojet jet kit with the clip on the third position on the dynojet needle the 155 main jet and the fuel screw 3.5 turns out.....it takes me forever to get it cranked and when i finally do i can ride it for 10-15 min and if i run it wide open it backfires and then just quits and will not start back for upwards of an hour....i have tried taking the air box lid off....i have tried leaving it on i have tried the 165,170, jets i have turned the fuel screw in and out 1/2 turns either way.....and after it will not crank after the backfire the only way to get it to run for several hours is to leave the choke on...if i turn it off it imediately dies........I NEED HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

a1965gt
09-24-2003, 05:34 PM
Im no expert but I will give it a shot...
I believe the metering limit of the air/fuel screw is about 2 1/2 turns meaning that after 2 1/2 turns it doesnt get any richer. im guessing you need to go to a bigger pilot jet (probably a 42 if you still have the stocker in there) I believe the air fuel screw only affects idle to 1/8 throttle, the pilot jet goes up to 1/4 throttle
If it runs better with the choke on sounds like you need to lower the clip on the needel down to the 4th position from the top. The needle and seat control fuel from 1/4 to 3/4 throttle. The main jet controls fuel from 3/4 to full throttle I cant imagine you needing anything more than a 165 with your setup.

There may be somthing else wrong with your quad my friend has the same exact setup but he ran the stock jetting and it ran fine (but a little hot) we just recently put a larger main jet (165 I think)in it which made it run a little cooler and faster but like I said it was running good with the stock jetting.
Hope this helps.