PDA

View Full Version : Computer Builders.....

JOEX
09-22-2003, 09:56 PM
It has come time to upgrade my computer. So I went to the electronics store and picked up these parts:

AMD Athalon XP 2000+ prcessor
ECS K7s5A Motherboard
256MB DDR Ram
BTC 52x32x52x CD-RW
ATX case w/ 300watt power supply
U.S. Robotics 56K PCI modem

I'm using my current 17.2G HD
CD-Rom drive
Floppy drive
ATI Rage 128 video card
Sound Blaster Live x-gamer 5.1 card

I put everyhing together but the monitor wont fire up. The light blinks as it is in "sleep" mode which is normal when the tower is off.
All the fans and drives have power and it sounds like the HD is working (maybe) I think I might have one of the switch wires wrong. The manual is kind of vague to me.

Can someone tell me where to start trouble shooting this or point me to a web site that can? This is my first time doing this, probably should of paid someone to put it together:rolleyes:

Joe

batgeek
09-22-2003, 10:14 PM
Joe,

i would dump that ATI Rage and get a real vid card :)

does the board have LEDs that tell if the board boots ok? does it POST correctly. like one nice beep.

i dunno much about this board but i did find a nice page for you to look at http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/ecs/k7s5aguide/

Castor-426ex
09-22-2003, 10:20 PM
unplug the modem and reseat the video card...make sure that you are getting a bios beep if you are and you hear processor activity it is a video card or monitor issue

jumpers on the motherboard are very important get all the info you can on that mb to figure out whats going on

JOEX
09-22-2003, 10:21 PM
Thanks for the link:) I'll be spending some time there.

This is a budget rebuild so a new video card will have to come later:rolleyes: I haven't done any gaming for quite some time anyway.

I didn't hear any beeps but the LED and switch wiring is where I think I might have messed up:confused:

Joe

batgeek
09-22-2003, 10:26 PM
no beeps = not getting to POST correctly.