PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilding engine

StreetLegalEX
09-22-2003, 10:03 AM
Well, I've had little luck with my 400ex yet...

Blown my head gasket twice. (repairs done by different mechanics)
This time I am going to try and fix it myself because I don't have enough money left to pay a mechanic to do the job for me.
Plus I will hopefully learn something about my quad... :)

Well, I am planning to take the engine apart, flattening the head and cilinder, using new taps and new bolts everywhere I can, and ofcourse brand new Honda OEM gaskets.

What should I look out for, pay extra attention to, to prevent the head gasket from blowing again? (and since this is my first time doing an engine rebuild)
Should I retighten the cilinder-bolts after a few hours riding?

Any extra tips?

RideRedEX
09-22-2003, 03:07 PM
people have the same problem when using stock head bolts with big bore kits. just go buy the head bolts for a 440 kit and it should help with your probem

K_Fulk
09-22-2003, 04:10 PM
Maybe your head or cylinder is slightly warped?

stupid driver
09-22-2003, 10:08 PM
you only need a few things to rebuild a motor CORRECTLY.

1. A good set of tools
2. a SERVICE MANUAL
3. Most importantly....a six pack of your fav. brew(in rico's case maybe a 24 pack)

that will get ya through the task

zfire_28
09-23-2003, 01:18 AM
Originally posted by stupid driver
....a six pack of your fav. brew ;)

StreetLegalEX
09-23-2003, 07:04 AM
Thanks I will keep that in mind ;) :D

StreetLegalEX
09-23-2003, 07:06 AM
Originally posted by K_Fulk
Maybe your head or cylinder is slightly warped?

Yes is what I thought also, once I have it all apart I am going to have them both checked for warpage.

I am also going to try and get those extra strong bolts.

Waynes400ex
09-23-2003, 03:10 PM