PDA

View Full Version : flipped wheels?

2-5-0-EX
09-16-2003, 09:50 PM
hi everybody, im new to my 250ex (i used to have a blaster)
in some of the peoples sigs i see that it says flipped wheels?
what does that do? what is it?

thanx guys

stupid driver
09-16-2003, 09:54 PM
i think it is for the fronts, it widens them or something. I have a question in the same ballpark tho. I noticed that the back tires have a bit of lip on them from the spinning. Would it hurt to flip the backs, or would that be just plain dumb. I know you arent to do this to the fronts, That arrow thing is supposed to point forward, but is it ok for the backs? thanks

RideRed250ex
09-17-2003, 05:53 AM
Flipping your front wheels on the 250ex will make it wider up front and is a good idea ut there is a problem with that, the air tube will hit the brake caliper everytime it goes by and eventually will damage the air stem...solution-buy a new air stem, on the opposite side, drill a hole in your rim and install it, ive never done it but ive heard about it. Oh yea you have to put the left rim on the right side and the right rim on the left side so you get the right tire direction...

If you flip your rears it will shorten your width the rears are already offset to get the most width...so there would be no point in flipping your back rims...

Hope this helps

stupid driver
09-17-2003, 06:42 AM
no, im talking about putting the rear left on the right and the right on the left.

nky400
09-17-2003, 11:31 AM
I flipped the wheels on my 400ex. Basically, it gives you an opposite offset, therefore making the front wider. The valve stems will hit the calipers, but you do not need to drill any holes. I put flush-mount valve stems in mine and there is plenty of clearence.

Diedrich
09-17-2003, 12:28 PM
its real easy man..this is how i dont mine..take the old vavle stem out and put it back in upside down..then drill and new hole on the other side and install a new vavle stem..then your done..took me about 10 min