PDA

View Full Version : OT: Need your opinions about a career choice......

sly400ex
09-09-2003, 08:57 AM
Alright, this is the break down.....maybe some of you can help me lean a certain way with my decision. I've been working for same company for the past seven years....been doing IT work for the past three. It is a T-Comm company that has lost over 2/3 of its employees due to layoffs because of the economy. There is still not a bright future foreseen either. I have made it through about eight rounds of layoffs here, but I am VERRRYYYY stressed out about not knowing when or if my number could be up. Well here it is. They just offered a program where you could voluntarily choose if you want to be laid off. I would get a decent severance package too....three months full pay, three months of paid insurance (not Cobra) and still be able to collect unemployment. This is the downside though. The market is tough right now, as we all know, but there ARE quite a few jobs out there. (Chicagoland area) The other downside is that I don't have a degree, but I do have quite a few prestigious Microsoft certifications. If and next time there are layoffs, they may not offer any type of severance package either....uuuuuuhhhh, my head hurts!!!! Sorry so long, but what do you guys think?????:confused: :(

zephead400ex
09-09-2003, 09:13 AM
The comany I work for KeyCreations, Inc. is hiring. We do IT support along with dialup, DSL, & wireless internet connectivity. But, we dont make poo for $. I work full time, make less than $9 an hour, but have free benefits b/c I am single so I really can't complain too much. I do not have a degree in anything as of now. Experience is the key, a peice of paper is sh*t to me.

www.keycreations.com

As for a new career choice: start a small IT company
This is what my and ledofthezep are talking about. It is pretty easy and good money (if you know what you are doing)

peace and good luck!

stace609
09-09-2003, 09:55 AM