PDA

View Full Version : Atv Builders/mechanics

JJWB023
08-26-2003, 01:28 PM
Did u ppl that build the atvs and fix them go to a school or learn by watchin?jw

K_Fulk
08-26-2003, 01:40 PM
Self taught, just got to try stuff on your own. I still wont think about taking apart a motor though. Everything else is not a problem.

Guy400
08-26-2003, 01:45 PM
Originally posted by JJWB023
Did u ppl that build the atvs and fix them go to a school or learn by watchin?jw My dad was an old hot-rodder and when I was 9 he bought his last Chevelle. He did 100% of the work himself (except for the rear tubs which a friend of ours made and the paint work). From the time I was 9 years old until I got my license at 16 I worked with him at the garage and at my dad's friend's machine shop. I then worked on Mark Thomas' IHRA Alcohol Funny Car crew during his 3rd World Championship season. After that he started making bigger money and the car is now kept down south and a paid professional pit crew now does the work. Now I build my own engines for my own cars. The 6 biggest ways to learn are this: watch, learn, bloody knuckles, bloody knuckles, bloody knuckles and experience.

nuclearkielbasa
08-26-2003, 02:03 PM
There are two types of people........ people who are born with mechanical ability and those who aren't. All the schools and training in the world won't make you a mechanic.

Guy is right. Experience and bloody knuckles are what makes a good mechanic. There are a million "book smart" mechanics out there, but when push comes to shove, they usually can't hack it!

GNCC#829
08-26-2003, 02:10 PM
Originally posted by K_Fulk
Self taught, just got to try stuff on your own. I still wont think about taking apart a motor though. Everything else is not a problem.
^^ I am the same way.
The only time that I use my manuel anymore is for torque specs or if I can't remember how to put something back together.

08-26-2003, 02:15 PM
workin on quads came second nature to me ..