PDA

View Full Version : jetting ? on a 400ex

sica
08-24-2003, 05:27 PM
hi, i am new to all of this so i need some help....ok this is what i have ....
on a 2003 400ex i got a dmc alien exhaust,white brothers rev box,k&n filter,and a dynojet kit....the instructions based on where i live told me to put the 146 jet in witht the clip on the 3rd position and turn the screw on the bottom of the carb all the way in and then out 3.5 turns.....i did this and it was running lean... so i went the other route...it said for stage 2 remove the air box lid and put the 170 in so i did and the spark plug is still white......so i took the 170 out and put in the 155 that came with it and put the lid back on and still lean....my ? is what is the screw on the bottom of the carb that i had to turn does it controll aht air(if so i need to turn it in a bit) or does it controll fuel(if so i need to turn it out a bit).....PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hondarider2006
08-24-2003, 05:30 PM
well first off how did you do a plug test? You have to do it wide open, hold it there, pull in the clutch and shut it off. Don't let out the clutch untill you have come to a complete stop also. Ride it for about 15 minutes and get it warmed up also. I am running a 165 with the lid on, but right now its only 55 above....(winter is coming:( )

cals400ex
08-24-2003, 08:22 PM