PDA

View Full Version : Question for all 300 EX riders

cain73
08-18-2003, 04:53 PM
I have an 01 300 EX. when ever I hit the throttle real hard on the bottom end it will bog down and die, but if I ease into it then hit it it will perform o.k. does any one else have this prob? is it with all 300 ex's or is there a prob with mine, and if so how do I fix it?
Any suggestions are appreciated since I am new to this and looking for knowledge. Thanks

300exOH
08-18-2003, 05:03 PM
Is it stock or does it have any mods? If there are mods you may need to jet it. Have you checked the plug? Need a little more info to be of any real help.

Maxxed out
08-18-2003, 05:05 PM
Hey Its probably normal.:huh

Maxxed out
08-18-2003, 05:14 PM
well now that i think about it.. it could be jetting.. or pretty much anything! we need more info.

jokerman_28
08-18-2003, 05:16 PM
sounds like a dirty carburator. clean your air filter more often also. and clean your carburator. check your carb every 4 months or so. clean your air filter after every 2-3 hours. or every 1-1/2 hours in dusty conditions.

cain73
08-20-2003, 06:37 AM
here is more info so hopefully you can help me.

enginge is stock for now.
air filter is cleaned often and frequently inspected to make sure that's not a problem.
I haven't cleaned the carb yet.
the plug is burning fine, so the air/fuel mix is good.
any other ideas or info needed please let me know.

jay's 300
08-20-2003, 06:52 AM
Sound like your jetting's off. Mine never done that stock. :D

300exOH
08-20-2003, 07:14 AM
Could even be electrical. Maybe the stator or the CDI? Your jetting could still be off. The plug can look fine after normal riding but if you check it properly your problem may show up. Try testing it with a warm engine and put a new plug in and test it at idle, 3/4 throttle and full throttle. There's a good article about jetting in the tech articles taht may help you test it.

300EXrider02
08-20-2003, 02:58 PM
well I read all your opsts and some are close