PDA

View Full Version : need feedback on mods i am about to make on my 2001 300ex

cain73
08-07-2003, 04:44 PM
OK lots of questions for you veterans out there. I am looking for more out of my 300ex as my friends '89 250 leaves me in the dust. I am going to add a pipe, jet kit, fast trekker tires, and uni air filter.
what is the best and most economical pipe that will give me the desired results?
same for the jet kit, and which do I need stage 1 or 2?
with the tires I was thinking about going down to 20's - any feedback for that?
I was going to go with the K&N but heard in Florida it's too dusty and the KN lets in too much. Is this true? And will I need to put in any extra air holes in my box?
will I need to / or should I change my sprockets with these mods to make it perform better.
Any info you guys give is greatly appreciated as I am new to the sport and really looking forward to getting more out of my quad.

300exOH
08-07-2003, 05:23 PM
From what I've seen the 300 responds really well to just about any pipe. As for the jets it all depends on your pipe. The only problem with the 20's is ground clearance. I have both 20's and 22's and I switch depending on where I ride. I like the 20's for acceleration. The same can be acheived with gearing and 22's. I would stick with a UNI if you ride in dust and sand. I don't think the holes in the airbox are worth the lack of protection. I hope this helps. Welcome to the most addictive sport around.:D

sprtrx300ex
08-08-2003, 11:06 AM
Don't get a K&N. They let in way too much dust. Id get a UNI. As for a pipe, I'd reccomend white bros e-series. It has great power good sound and can be adjusted.

sweet300ex
08-08-2003, 01:35 PM
Originally posted by sprtrx300ex
Don't get a K&N. They let in way too much dust. Id get a UNI. As for a pipe, I'd reccomend white bros e-series. It has great power good sound and can be adjusted.
word

deathman53
08-08-2003, 02:00 PM