PDA

View Full Version : 400ex aftermarket

400exChic
01-22-2002, 11:43 AM
My first post to this forum :) I have a stock 2001 400ex and am wanting to get into racing mx. I am looking into an exhaust, big gun or white bros.? Which would be better? I know the big gun is expensive, so I was wondering if it is that much better. I also am putting a K&N Filter on it. What else should I do to it? I am also getting my fenders cut down. I'm pretty new to this so all the help I can get would be great. Thanks a lot.

lil'redrocket
01-22-2002, 11:49 AM
for racing mx your best upgrades would be wider a-arms, wheels spacers, and smaller tires 18rear 19 front. but mainly its 80%rider 20% quad. by the way what part of missouri are you from?

01-22-2002, 01:13 PM
welcome to the site young lady...:D

I would have to suggest chassis upgrades before motor upgrades..smaller tires and stronger rims are gonna help you more than motor upgrades probably. Not sayin gettin an aftermarket exhaust won't but since your just gettin into racin,,the motor should be enough for you at this time...

Honestly here's what I highly recommend you get to start racin....

1st and most important protective gear,,chestprotector, goggles, good helmet, and riding boots..not work boots,,riding boots.

A good set of handlebars,,renthal, tag, 909, etc.

prodesign kill switch,,,a must at most tracks.

nerfbars your choice of brand.

then tires,,,and on to other things.

Tommy 17
01-22-2002, 01:41 PM
how much money are u look in to spend????

def get nerfs they are a live saver... also ur gonna need a teather switch and head light covers...

Juggalo
01-22-2002, 03:34 PM
i agree with getting the nerfs and kill switch (first thing i did to mine) but if you must have the pipe get the white brothers. its way better than big gun. all big gun's are very mediocre.

400exChic
01-22-2002, 03:54 PM