PDA

View Full Version : Shock adjustment.....soft/firm

Jeff
01-21-2002, 08:15 PM
I was thinking about going to a MX track sometime soon and do a little bit of jumping. See, my 400ex's shocks are still set to factory setting, medium I would imagine. I was wondering if I would need to firm them up a little bit since im going to be jumping some? Now im not talking about real big jumps, maby like 4-5' of air, give or take a little. I have never been to a MX track and this is my first time, so I dont know these things. I dont want to break a axle or anything. If I do need to stiffin them up, about how much?? I have never tinkered with them any.

This may be a stupid question, I dont know, so just bare with me...

Ps. Whats the best kind of jump to start out on? Somebody told me a tabletop, but I dunno.....?

01-22-2002, 07:21 AM
I'd leave the fronts' alone and maybe soften up the rear compression so your not acting like a bull rider and getting broncon'd off,,,Your not gonna brake an axle don't worry about that,,Unless your hitting massive jumps in 4th or 5th gear.
Tabletops are the best to start off on,,and remember,,NEVER EVER LET OFF THE GAS ON THE FACE OF A JUMP. Or you'll land on your head,,,hold the gas steady or blip the throttle,,you'll catch on after a few practice jumps,,,OH and wear a friggin helmet and any other safety gear you can get your hands on..:D

MOOCAZEN
01-22-2002, 07:49 AM
I HAVE THE STOCK REAR STILL AND IM GOING TO SEND IT AWAY BUT MEANWHILE, IS THERE ANYWAY TO MAKE IT SOFTER FOR JUMPING, HOW THE H@LL DO YOU ADJUST IT, IF YOU CAN THAT IS?

01-22-2002, 09:55 AM