PDA

View Full Version : RECON ENGINE HELP!

400exJOE
01-11-2002, 03:04 PM
hey guys. Well I finally took the jug off the recon and it has some good scars in the cylinder. The piston also is scraped up on the sides. The rings are all in place, but they seem to be pretty worn away. So do you still think it wasn't getting compression from what l described? Anyways, l think it will have to be bored and a new piston kit. Now for the questions: Does this seem like why it wouldn't start? Also, this is my first time taking an engine apart. How do you remove the wrist pin to get the piston off? Finally, the quad is a 98 and its been used and abused. Does it need new valves, cam, rockers, lifters...? There is a kid that I know whose pretty obnoxious and he said that every thing in the engine should be replaced. He's not right is he? Thanks a lot and sorry for making that so long!;)

400exJOE
01-11-2002, 05:42 PM
:( a little help?

Tommy 17
01-11-2002, 05:51 PM
to take out the wrist pin on a piston i know on a 2-stroke lookin into the holes where it slides through the piston u will see a cir clip push it together and pull it out and it should come right out... i dunno if thats how a recons is but thats how my 80s and all the other bikes around here are... hope i could help TOMMY

9300EX
01-11-2002, 07:27 PM