PDA

View Full Version : rear brake dragging...loose axle?

monk
05-23-2003, 11:45 AM
I need some advice.

1.) I changed my rear brake pads on the 400ex. I thought it went OK, but I am no mechanic.
The rear brake now drags…a little more than it should (I realize the new pads should rub for a few minutes). I do NOT have a block off kit…yet. What should I do? I do not think it has to do with the parking brake handle asjustment, it is like the brake does not want to “release”, and it sticks especially when I roll backwards. While changing the brakes I did loosen the nut that started leaking oil. I did this to release pressure while putting the new pads in place. I have changed pads 1 time before with the same brand pads, and all was fine…Although the first time around I do not remember loosening virtually every
nut and bold on the caliper….please help. I am a dip***** when it comes to messing this type of thing up. It all seems very clean, too. And I keep my rear brake pedal well lubed, sprayed with wd-40 every week.

2.) The axle nut on the right side of the brake seems a bit loose. Not so that I can turn it or anything, it just kind of has a “slight” jiggle to it…is this normal? Should I turn it with a huge wrench? If yes, hich way should I turn?

If these questions are stupid, forgive me, but I need to know before I ride again. Don’t want to take a chance of breaking the machine or myself.

Thank you.

toby400ex
05-23-2003, 01:23 PM
take off the parking brake assembly and see if that helps

KY Woods Rider
05-23-2003, 03:49 PM