PDA

View Full Version : Disadvantage to ZPS?

wilkin250r
05-19-2003, 01:04 PM
I'm finally getting to upgrade my suspension, and I'm leaning towards PEP (because I found somebody that can cut the lead time way down)

My question is, is there a disadvantage to ZPS? (other than price)

I'll admit, I'm not a pro-level racer, so I can probably get by with a less expensive setup. However, I have the money right now, and I'm willing to spend the extra money now so that I'll only have to upgrade once.

I'm not a suspension expert, by any means, so I'm not sure of all the differences between a regular setup (like Works) and ZPS, ( or SSD, SCS, any "zero preload" system). What are the major advantages of ZPS? Are there any drawbacks? Is it possible I'd be better off with a different setup? I'm looking to race both TT and MX, but only locally, I'm not a pro.

Foxrage
05-19-2003, 01:36 PM
There is no way that you can go wrong with getting zps shocks. I have only rode on pep zps and works standard and i wouldnt ever get rid of the zps unless im going with long travel.

quader400
05-19-2003, 01:40 PM
i have elka tripple rates with rezzies. and they have the top spring that is basically always compresed. is there a way to like buy a new spring so it can be zps or something.

Tommy 17
05-19-2003, 01:41 PM
there is no disadvantage to ZPS or SSd shocks...

they lower the quad which makes it handle better...

the valving is better in the shocks...

with the 2 inches in sag when u get in the ruff stuff it drops the wheel and the shock so that wheel is always on the ground...

i'll never buy anything with out ssd or zps... i love my elkas...

quader400
05-19-2003, 01:44 PM
what is ssd?

Tommy 17
05-19-2003, 01:45 PM
Originally posted by quader400
i have elka tripple rates with rezzies. and they have the top spring that is basically always compresed. is there a way to like buy a new spring so it can be zps or something.