PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about starting my own business....

mx73vet
05-19-2003, 06:27 AM
I'm thinking of starting my own used quad and bike shop. Eventually I would like to have a full blown shop but for now I'll probably have to run it out of my garage. Anyway, I'm just looking for input from everyone. Has anyone tried to do this and can you give me some pointers on getting started.
I've been racing and riding for 27 years and I've always wanted to do this but never followed through. My job now (network tech./ATT) is going nowhere and I'm bored! The shop will be located in Wake Forest, NC (Near Raleigh, NC). I know there's not a shop within 2 hrs (Legacy ATV) that caters to racers and that's what I plan on doing.
Please give me some input be it negitive or positive. I'm just trying to start a "business plan". Thanks!

GNCC#829
05-19-2003, 06:36 AM
You will never have to WORK a day in your life if you enjoy what you do. Go for it!!!

freakystone
05-19-2003, 07:15 AM
Before you do so, do some research and build a thorough business plan. To many people start a business because they THINK it will work. How much money can you make in a day, a week, a month, a year. What will your overhead be? Other expenses? Salaries? What do you want to make? Is your anticipated business accurate or a wish?

Be lean. In my business, I owe nothing to no one. No loans, only COGS on a month by month basis. Operating a 40% profit margin after COGS. That with 30% other expenses, the 10% remaining is mine that I split with Uncle Sam. At just over $2 million a year, I make about $250 to $300 K.

Be Lean.

mx73vet
05-19-2003, 08:16 AM
freakystone, check yoor pm's....

pane2k
05-19-2003, 09:41 AM
mx if thats what your going to be happy with, and you will be enjoying your self, go for it, just be sure your ready, and make sure you will be making some sort of profit. Its not as easy as everyone thinks.

mx73vet
05-20-2003, 07:18 AM