PDA

View Full Version : Which handlebar bend? Height/Angle advice please...

thejeepdude
05-19-2003, 06:24 AM
OK, so what are the pros and cons of the different bends? Is one more suited towards taller riders? I'm almost 6'3 and the stock bars just didn't quite feel "right" especially standing up and hauling *** up the rough stuff... although since I'm still new to this ATV thing, it may have just been me. Now that the stock bars have bent into a shape resembling that of a pretzel, I've decided on some new Renthals or something similar. I'm just not sure whether I should try something lower and/or a little more forward (12 degree instead of 14 degree bend?). Any taller riders out there have an opinion? How does the height and angle affeect different styles of riding, etc?

GNCC#829
05-19-2003, 06:33 AM
You might try a +1 or +2 inch steering stem

Glow Plug
05-19-2003, 06:45 AM
you could try a cr-hi bend or double high and if that doesn't help you might have to try a bigger stearing stem like +1 or +2 :)

y2k400ex
05-19-2003, 07:49 AM
I,m 6'4", I extended my steering stem by 1' this helps allot it keeps your back straighter when you stand up through the rough stuff. I cut and had a extention tig welded on that I machined from stainless steel. Its better than paying $350 for a after market one :D

KY Woods Rider
05-19-2003, 01:28 PM
I'm 6'2" and I ride standing up most of the time (except for corners), so the first thing I replaced on my EX was the handlebars. I didn't want to buy a new steering stem, so I just bought the tallest Renthal bars I could find, the Renthal "Fourtrax bend" (also known as the "250R bend"). The Renthal Fourtrax bend is tall enough that I can ride standing up and not have to be bent over so much that I'm uncomfortable. I also tilt my bars forward some, until the end of the bars start to point upward just a bit. By tilting the bars forward some, it makes them just a bit taller and takes away some of the sweep (the bend back toward the rider).