PDA

View Full Version : First wreck... ouch! Need new bars...

thejeepdude
05-18-2003, 04:37 PM
I can't believe it. No sooner had I posted in here that "hey, i'm just a beginner so I shouldn't need bars anytime soon" I bent my bars!!! I decided to try out the MX track and Mammoth Bar this evening... after a couple laps I felt pretty confident and got a little air over the table tops. Well, I decided instead of hitting the jump in 3rd, I'd hit it in 4th the next time around... it was awesome... although I can already see these stock shocks are going to have to GO! The problem started when I realized the banked turn after the jump comes up a lot faster when you hit it in fourth :eek2: I missed the turn, got launched through the fence and down a rocky ledge... into blackberry bushes! :mad: knocked my face on my bars [hard enough to bend them!], flipped over and jumped away from the quad. It landed balancing upside down on the headlights... STILL RUNNING! My nose was bleeding but my first thought was 4 strokes don't like running upsidedown! I flipped her over and rode to the top... there was this guy on a raptor just sitting there with his jaw dropped saying he saw the whole thing and thought "either that guy is a badass or he just crashed HARD". :devil Checked her over and bars seem to be the only damage! Whew! My body faired OK, although I can tell I'm not 21 anymore :rolleyes: ... just a twisted elbow, bloody nose, abrasion on my hip, a few bruises, and a bunch of scratches... all I have to say is WHAT AN AWESOME NIGHT!!! :macho YEEAAAHh... I love my new toy!! :D :D

So, now I gotta get some bars... Renthal seems to have a good rep... taking recommendations more seriously now! :p

JUSTINcredible
05-18-2003, 05:10 PM
get some $20 dollar moose bars so the next time they get bent it doesnt set you back so far

sweet300ex
05-18-2003, 11:53 PM
Originally posted by MNmxblaster37
get some $20 dollar moose bars so the next time they get bent it doesnt set you back so far