PDA

View Full Version : Picked up an 86 R motor today

CBW
05-05-2003, 05:03 PM
Yep sur did....thought it would be a great idea........

WRONG!!!!!:ermm:

Upon close inspection it has the following: (BTW i am by no means an EXPERT on R motors so if i am wrong on something feel free to point me in the correct direction!!!)

--first off it supposed to be an 86 ATC motor.....they are silver painted ...my 86 TRX is anyway,,and th eone from my 85 ATC was all black when stock,,,,this one has a center case half from an 85....or later like an 88/89 which i doubt.....and the 86 case half painted black to make it look correct,,,or atleast matching

---the cylinder off my 85 ATC was black, the one on my 86 TRX is silver painted, the one off my 88 TRX is bare cast.........this supposed 86 motor has a bare cylinder.....doest appear to be sandblasted.......could have beed stripped to make the motor appear to be an 88/89

-- Hole in the clutch side case where bolt in the crank came loose and ate the case........that had been repaired. Clutch basket is notched to beat all

-- Stock bore,,,,,,,,,but piston has a crack on the intake side...(no big deal it would have been rebored anyway;) )

--Water pump shaft has a broken tab, bad bearing and bad seal

--Counterbalancer had gone bad, got into the case and broke the ears on the bearing holder,,,,,,,,(and possibly was the cause of the messed waterpump)

--crank appers to be relatively new and appears to be with in tolerances..(would obviously make certian before any rebuild ;) )...and actually looks like a aftermarket connecting rod.......kind of that bronzeish color:confused2

Well that is all the priliminary stuff....the shift dogs look good still......and the case saver mounts are still intact:huh

Go figure how a motor could be hammered, and the countershaft sprocket be missing teeth..........but the case saver could be mounted up great????:huh

Good thing i didnt give any money for this :p