View Full Version : threaded preload

Max400
04-22-2003, 09:03 AM
I'm looking to get a pair of Works triple rate shocks W/O Rezzies. they don't come with threaded preload, but for an extra $60 you can add the threaded preload. I ride trails and riverbottoms and I want to know if I should pay the extra and get the preload or what? thanks for any help..........

wilkin250r
04-22-2003, 10:07 AM
Get the preload. It will allow you to adjust your suspension and ride height.

I'm not an expert, but I'd never even consider getting aftermarket suspension without a preload adjustment. If your quad sits too high, or your suspension is too hard or too soft, then you need something to adjust. Not only that, but you often find yourself riding different types of terrain, and you will most certainly improve your riding skills. The more adjustments you have, the more you can adapt. I'm not saying that you need top of the line ZPS with adjustable compression and rebound, but certainly get SOME type of adjustability.

boogiechile
04-22-2003, 10:14 AM
the preload will be adjustable wether you get a threaded preload or not. The threaded just makes it easier to adjust.

Max400
04-22-2003, 11:19 AM
the preload will be adjustable wether you get a threaded preload or not. The threaded just makes it easier to adjust.

How do you adjust the preload without the threaded preload? do you have to use a spanner wrench or something to adjust the preload, the threaded preload looks like it has nut of sorts on top of the shock so you can do it by hand! does anyone have any close up pics of this shocks? the pics on their website are not to clear.............thanks for the help guys

P.S. what color of springs would you get? I like the black with white on top!

toby400ex
04-22-2003, 12:18 PM
i beleive that nut you are talkin about is the compression and rebound, not the preload.

Chef
04-22-2003, 12:28 PM
The spring colors are directly related to the weight and set up of the shocks I believe.

Max400