PDA

View Full Version : Help FCR owners

Giz400ex
04-11-2003, 02:55 PM
I just recieved my FCR39 and was looking at it, playing around and I was looking at the manual or whatever you want to call it and for some reason I can't locate the main jet??? Now, at each end of the carb there are covers, at one end there 3 screws and at the other end there's 2. At the end where there is 3 screws there's the air screw??? (correct me if I'm wrong!) Right in front of it there seems to a hex head, now if I take that off, is that where the main jet is??? If so, what tool is used to take the head off because I tried using a cresent wrench and there's no room, unless I take something off but I'm pretty you wouldn't have to because that would be a pain in the arse. This is my first time doing anything with a carb so I'm pretty much winging it by typing here. All help is appreciated

nick23
04-11-2003, 03:34 PM
on the bottm..take that cover off and then the main jet is just above the float bowl

RytM1
04-13-2003, 01:20 AM
Giz, you are right about the main jet location, its under that cap. It sounds like you have the FCR on your EX already, so what you are probably going to have to do is rotate your carb enough so that you can access it. That carb isn't any easier to work on than the stock carb once its installed. If you haven't already, I would suggest getting the aftermarket fuel screw that C&D sells. I put it to use yesterday, and it definitely made fine tuning the carb a lot easier.

nakomis0
04-13-2003, 03:08 AM
its rare if I try and change the jet with the carb on the bike. Ussually I just take the darn thing off. Just another reason I hate jetting carbs.:ermm:

Giz400ex
04-13-2003, 05:42 AM
Originally posted by RytM1