PDA

View Full Version : +2 front end and Racing XC

Cannonball08
04-10-2003, 03:07 AM
Does anyone here race XC with a +2 front end? Or do you all think its to wide?

04-10-2003, 03:30 AM
not a very good idea.. I run a +1 and it's pushing it at some races. Some guys will tell you it's ok and they ride trails and stuff. But how many of them have raced an actuall XC like that is a different story. When they lay out tracks for XC..i've noticed the purposly put you between tight trees and ruts and rocks ect..it's not a paved highway like trails in someones riding area. I'd say go with +1 and if ya wanna run MX or whatever you still can with no problems..

exriderdude
04-10-2003, 04:20 AM
Originally posted by Rico
I'd say go with +1

Ex'r Marlin
04-10-2003, 09:17 AM
I think it is too wide. I have hit too many trees with the stock width while racing XC!:eek: :rolleyes: But then again, I am no pro!

I recently ordered plus 1" a-arms, but I also ordered 4+1 rims to bring me back to stock width.

Note: I have seen racers with wider setups that have done fairly well in the race, but even they say, "I wish I did not have as wide of a setup!":D

Good luck racing!

04-10-2003, 09:30 AM
I forgot to mention that I also run an adjustable LS axle and while racing XC it is setup to be as narrow as possible which is still 2 inches wider than stock and sometimes I barely fit between trees.:ermm: it will actually ride up the tree's sometimes and drop off on the other side. If i didn't race Mx too i'd have a stock width axle on the mofo..

Ex'r Marlin
04-10-2003, 09:43 AM
Lol's Rico... I can relate!!!:D

That is why I went with a minus 1" rear axle!!!:rolleyes:

04-10-2003, 09:50 AM
also having a wider front end than stock can lead you to clipping trees more often..:o as you can see from the bent stem in the pic below....:mad:

anywhereEx
04-10-2003, 10:54 AM