PDA

View Full Version : How long does a tank of gas last?

LxMxL97
03-13-2014, 02:59 PM
Last season I raced a 400ex and I could finish a full length xc race. I know the lengths of races differ a little from place to place but I run awrcs cra and a couple gnccs and I was wondering how long a tank of gas will last in terms of laps in a 450r the motor is all stock except a stage 2 hotcam

chronicsmoke
03-14-2014, 05:42 AM
I've got a stroker (471) with +1x4 valves and I need an exrea capacity tank.. I can make it but it's too close for comfort I hit reserve on my last lap and BARELY made it back to the pits

LxMxL97
03-14-2014, 08:54 AM
So you say that you don't need to pit and fuel up?

chronicsmoke
03-14-2014, 09:04 AM
So you say that you don't need to pit and fuel up?

I'm new to the XC world so I've only got one under my belt.. My bike is setup for MX but I'm racing both XC&MX @ 50" lol..

I'm going to get a + sized tank this spring.. Last time was too close for comfort, I ran out of gas in a rut, stalled and got stuck and lost at least 2 positions before I could get started/unstuck... If I had the tank would have been fine I wouldn't need to make a pit stop to sure.. (I'm not doing GNCC though so the length of the race could be different..)

LxMxL97
03-14-2014, 02:58 PM
I'm new to the XC world so I've only got one under my belt.. My bike is setup for MX but I'm racing both XC&MX @ 50" lol..

I'm going to get a + sized tank this spring.. Last time was too close for comfort, I ran out of gas in a rut, stalled and got stuck and lost at least 2 positions before I could get started/unstuck... If I had the tank would have been fine I wouldn't need to make a pit stop to sure.. (I'm not doing GNCC though so the length of the race could be different..)
So you finished a race on a tank of gas.. how long was it?

CJM
03-14-2014, 07:36 PM