PDA

View Full Version : 400ex power adders

5.0bronco
01-08-2014, 11:25 AM
Hey guys I just got my first 400ex a few month ago and this weekend it started leaking oil between the head and cylinder on the right side of the engine. Im gonna re do the top end on it and I was wondering what a good setup would be. I was thinking a wiseco11:1 piston with a xr400 head gasket and hondabond for the base gasket and a stage 2 hot cam. Would I be able to run pump gas and would this be a reliable setup? I was also gonna put stronger head studs in it cheap insurance. Is there any thing else I should do while I have it tore down to make it more reliable and perform better? Im New to the 400ex and would greatly appreciate any tips and info.

Thanks,
Ross

5.0bronco
01-08-2014, 11:28 AM
O and mines a 2003, its STD bore, it has a yoshi slip on, the air box has been opened up and its been jetted accordingly. I was also thinking about putting a fcr carb on it off of a 450

81dasher81
01-08-2014, 02:30 PM
yes, you can still run in on pump gas, you'll just need 93 octane.. i like JE or CP pistons, rather than wiseco but thats just my opinion. i would go with the hd studs if i were you. i got mine from extreme tech racing.. thats a pretty common set up for a 400ex. as far as the carb goes, it depends what kind of riding you do, and if you want smoother power or more snap.. an fcr will make it rev quicker, where a trx carb will be smoother. i also lightened my flywheel on mine, it makes it rev quicker, some people dont like to lighten them for trails but i do.

on my 400ex i'm running a uni filter, the trx450 carb, stage 2 cam, and 13:1 88mm piston, (i just used cometic gaskets,) with a yoshimura exhaust (and heres where everyone on this forum tells me i'm wrong) i run this set up on 93 pump gas at everywhere from 500-1500 elevation, and its jetted 55/205.