PDA

View Full Version : Lexx pipe uni filter jetting

bjh05400ex
12-09-2013, 07:03 PM
Hi guys I'm fairly new to the atv scene. I've got a 2005 400ex and I have installed a new lexx slip-on with uni filter. I am undecided on if I will run the air box lid on or off. I picked up a new 42 pilot jet but I am not sure what I should use for the main or where to set my air/fuel screw.i am using keihin jets if it makes any difference . I found that my needle does not have adjustable notches on it. Can I get this thing to run good without an adjustable needle or do I need to pick one up? If I need to get a new needle will any model years work? I live in wi by the il border Maybe some of you local guys can give some feedback on my jetting questions and also whether I should run lid on or off.

Zakradu398
12-10-2013, 06:12 AM
I personally would run no lid, you'll want to clean the filter just about every ride though.

As far as jetting that 42 will work and depending on how cold it gets a 45 may even work(did for me with similar mods). As far as the main jet I would get between 162 and 155. You should be in there.

The needle changed in the newer 400s to be in adjustable, with all my mods I believe I only raised it a clip so you should be OK there.

i973eat1
12-10-2013, 07:32 AM
On my 2001, I am running a 42 pilot with a 160 main (with the lid on) and have no problem. Are you by the MO/IL border? Question is where you will be riding as to whether you should keep the airbox lid on or off.

Zakradu398
12-10-2013, 07:47 AM
Where you're riding IMO doesn't matter. I ride in some of the worst conditions, snow, MUD, creek crossings, slate dumps, etc. and I've never had a problem directly related to running no lid. If you plan on riding in sand though (I never have), I would run an outerwears lid or the homemade equivalent.

bjh05400ex
12-10-2013, 08:42 AM