PDA

View Full Version : 2011 yz450f possible hybrid build. Need help!

Codymc979
10-07-2013, 08:31 PM
Hey guys new to the forums here. I have rode quads and mx bikes most of my life. I decided this summer to get an mx bike again. I bought a brand new 2011 yz450f as a dealer left over. The bike now has 3 hours on it. Well after riding it, I've realized I'm much happier on a quad. The mx bike kills my knees. Now here's the dilemma, resale is terrible in my area right now if I sold the bike outright or of I traded it in. I've owners several yfz450s and two have been full ground up builds. I am also a certified welder and fabrication is not a problem. I have a shop with a tig machine and most metal working tools. My question is, is this a worthwhile mx build project? Which frame would you use? 250r geometry? Ltr? I would love a new Walsh but its out of the budget. Do you think I could make out alright selling the chassis of my dirtbike and keeping the power train? Sorry for all the questions, just looking for advice from some hybrid builders.

Logan #34's Dad
10-07-2013, 09:18 PM
Arguably the best handling chassis (on a budget) is the CanAm DS450....It is absolutley the lightest chassis. You throw that motor in and you'll be yanking holeshots... go to www.ds450hq.com and ask some questions...someone has done it by now.

jcs003
10-08-2013, 06:30 AM
trx250r geometry is by far the best handling chassis ever built. get a laegar, or LSR and throw that engine in there. there should be a few build threads in the archives.

john

Logan #34's Dad
10-08-2013, 06:36 AM
trx250r geometry is by far the best handling chassis ever built. get a laegar, or LSR and throw that engine in there. there should be a few build threads in the archives.

john
I totally agree with ya... just may be difficult to find a chassis and then parts if something breaks.

chopp124
10-09-2013, 05:56 PM