PDA

View Full Version : dirtbike?

tbrackman84
08-24-2013, 09:25 PM
hHey all, I want to get some advice. Now I know this forum is for "ATV riders", but i want to ask you guys about dirtbikes, because I always get good advice on here. Long story short: I started riding a PW80 when i was 6, got a CR85, then rode a honda recon for a while, then RM100. Now I ride a 400ex which i love. Ive been away form home for about 7 months and havent really ridden too much in that time period. I am finally finding the time to go again now, althogh my EX is in the shop with a few minor problems. Now I kind of want to get myself a bike, but i'm having a hard time deciding between a 2 stroke or 4 stroke, and I want to see what kind of input i get on here. Also, i'm a honda guy, so it'll more than likely be a Honda, possibly a KTM xc bike! thanks!

wickestangwv
08-25-2013, 12:13 AM
250 4 stroke of your choice KTM's are Nice I personally ride a Kawi. What kind of riding will you be doing with it? That would also help with my decision. If I was riding trails I would get a 2 stroke if it was riding mx I would get a 2 stroke. I weight about 180 and I have a 250 and couldn't be happier with it.

buck440
08-25-2013, 03:48 AM
my vote is 2 stroke unless you got enough $ for a new kawi 450. 01+cr250r can be had for $1,500 or maby trade...don't forget to run KLOTZ!!!

quad2xtreme
08-25-2013, 09:09 AM
I would look at the KTM 200 XC-W. It is an enduro bike with both kick and electric start. Electric start as an option is so nice in the woods. :) KTM focused on giving this 2 stroke more low end torque. I'd also look at the 250 XC-W and the 300 XC-W...both of these are 2 strokes too. The main advantage of 2 strokes is they are just simpler than today's 4 strokes. I am guessing carbs will last about 2 more years on 2 strokes and then they will be EFI. A recent magazine article led me to believe Honda was looking at releasing an EFI 2 stroke soon and that KTM already has one but hasn't released it.